Malaria-Free Declared Provinces, Now at 60

 By Maria Santa Portillo  Mar 25, 2020Central

The members of the Malaria Technical Working Group (TWG) lead by the chair, Dr. Leda Hernandez (Division Chief, DPCB-IDED) convened last 5-6 December 2019 at Bayleaf Hotel, Intramuros Manila for the annual Deliberation of Provinces for Malaria-Free Declaration. Ten provinces showcased their individual success stories towards malaria elimination including their sustainability mechanisms in place to counter the threat of re-introduction. These provinces were Antique, Negros Oriental, Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga del Norte, Agusan del Norte, Tarlac, Davao del Sur, Saranggani, Laguna and Quezon. Each province was represented by their Provincial Health Officers, Core Malaria Team, Provincial Health Board Representative, and even accompanied by the Regional Director and Regional Malaria Coordinator. The deliberation process included oral presentation of the provincial team delegates followed by a discussion springing from various questions and comments of the TWG members. At the end of the activity, Dr. Hernandez announced that the ten applicants has successfully qualified as malaria-free provinces. This has raised the number of malaria-free provinces in the country to 60 out of 81. The result of the deliberation will be officially communicated to the successful applicants and the awarding is to be done during the integrated NTD Forum and Malaria Free Awarding Ceremony in 2020.

Share this post